Bacon Cheese Burger Casserole

A little while back I shared the recipe for Ground Meat Casserole and while it is good, I kicked it up a notch and hubby devoured it last night. While I did make the basic recipe, I used my low sodium recipe for the bisquick and I also made a few other changes that really made this casserole taste just like a bacon cheeseburger.

First I added a drizzle of prepared yellow mustard over the top of the the meat/bisquick mixture, a handful of cooked low sodium bacon, and I sprinkled this ketchup seasoning over all of it.

I found this at my local Amish salvage store and it has an amazing flavor!

I could have used regular ketchup but I really wanted to try this in the casserole and I am really glad that I did. I think because it has a few more herbs and spices in it that the flavor was kicked up a notch. If you like pickles and tomatoes, you could put thin slices on top right after it comes out of the oven and let it set before slicing into it. Another idea is shredding up lettuce really fine and topping it when on your plate. Or if you really want a rich and gooey casserole, why not top it with onion rings or French fries? The possibilities are endless when cooking and creating comfort food.

Don’t forget to click on the link above for the original recipe and the recipe that I used in that post.

Your friend, Beth

Leave a comment