Healthier Chocolate Raisin Cookies

Yummy!!

While going through my stash of flour I came across a bag of Bob’s Red Mill whole wheat pastry flour. I remember buying it but for some reason I never used it instead of my King Arthur unbleached flour when I made breads, cookies, muffins, etc. Well now is a great time to use it in my baking because the prices are rising on grain products, including flour, and I don’t want this bag to go to waste. These cookies are so good and soft when kept in an airtight container, but I am not going to lie when I say that they don’t last long in this house lol. Well let’s get started on the list of ingredients.

3/4 cup cooked and cooled raisins 1 large egg 2 cups oatmeal 3/4 tsp baking soda 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour 3/4 cup brown sugar 1 tsp cinnamon 1/4 tsp nutmeg (optional) 1/2 tsp salt 1 stick butter 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

A stand mixer works best, but a hand mixer will work. Cream butter and sugar on high for about 2 minutes, batter should be fluffy. Add in egg and vanilla beating on medium speed until mixture is smooth. Add in oats, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg if using, baking soda, and salt. Mix on low until combined, then mix in raisins and chocolate chips. Dough will be fairly thick and sticky. Using a medium cookie scoop or a heaping TBLSP, place cookie dough on cookie sheet lines with parchment paper, about 3″ apart to allow for spreading. Bake for 9 to 12 minutes. The middle may feel soft but will set when cooling on baking sheet for 1-2 minutes. Transfer to cooling racks to finish cooling. Makes about 2 dozen and store in an airtight container.

As usual I did not add the salt to my cookies because there is salt in baking soda and my husband does not notice the difference and I didn’t add the nutmeg since we just wanted to taste the cinnamon in our cookies. Also, when I first made these I only made one batch since we never had them before and I just wanted to try them. Now that we know we really like them I will double the batch to have extra on hand for packing in hubby’s lunch and to give to our mom’s for a sweet treat. I hope that you try these and enjoy the somewhat healthier sweet goodness of a cookie.

Your friend, Beth

Leave a comment