Low Salt Spaghetti Sauce

I wanted to finish canning strawberry jam this morning before it got too hot, as it has in the 90’s here this week. I gathered the strawberries from the freezer and realized that I had only one bag of spaghetti sauce left. I like the taste of it better when it is canned, but the last time I made a batch I didn’t have time to can it so I just froze it in quart size bags. I use the recipe from the American Heart Association Low-Salt Cookbook. The only thing that I don’t like is that this sauce has thyme in it so I just omit it from the recipe and I think that it tastes better. I make a huge batch of it in a cooker so that I am not making it the night that we want spaghetti or any Italian dish.

001

Here is the full recipe.

2 6oz cans tomato paste no salt added

2 cups water

1/4 finely chopped onion

2 medium garlic cloves, chopped

1 tsp oregano dried and crumbled

1 tsp basil dried and crumbled

1/2 tsp dried thyme crumbled

1/2 tsp sugar

1/8 tsp pepper

1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

Whisk everything together over medium heat. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 30 minutes or until desired consistency.

I actually make 6 batches at once so I that I have enough to can or freeze for other meals.

002

So this morning while the canner was still on from doing the jam I canned the sauce too. There is another jar, but it is in the fridge for a meal on Friday.

My kitchen didn’t get too hot thank goodness. I am now sitting down in the living room with the ac on enjoying the fact that we have more food stored away for future use.

Beth

Leave a Reply

