Chicken Pot Pie

I love to cook and I especially love to look at cookbooks and drool over recipes. Sometimes though I also just “wing it” when cooking. Most of the time those recipes where I just wing it turn out to be our favorites. Such is the case when I was craving a pot pie. Mind you I have never made one before, nor have I really ever liked them as a child growing up. I guess things change, tastes change and sometimes that can be a good thing. The pot pie I made isn’t fancy, but will comfort you on a cold blustery day. Old fashioned farm cooking is what I call it. My husband and son were going to a football game the night I made this and it had been cold and snowy on and off all day here, so I figured they needed a warm meal for the road.

chicken pot pie 5

The first thing I did was put two chicken breasts in my cast iron pot. I browned them in a little canola oil, minced onion, paprika and pepper.

chicken pot pie 4

Once browned, I took them out of the pot to cut them up in small pieces. I left the little bit of drippings that I had in the pot to give my gravy some flavor. I then added several tablespoons of flour to the drippings and stirred in two cups of chicken broth, slowly,  and some more pepper. I stirred it enough so that there were no lumps. I then added my chicken back to the pot and put in a can of low sodium mixed vegetables. I had purchased the can for free with an e coupon that one of my local stores sent me, so I used it instead of fresh vegetables.  Cook everything together until it thickens up and then shut off. I let it cool while I made a crust for it.

chicken pot pie

Since my heart attack I am always finding healthier ways to make things, pie crusts are no exception. My mother in law gave me this recipe and I use it whenever I need to make a pie, or in this case a chicken pot pie. I didn’t want to use a biscuit crust because that just seemed to much like a casserole. This pie crust was 2 cups plus 4 tblsp. of flour, dash of salt, and 2/3 cup canola oil. Mix the flour and salt together then add the oil a little at a time and cut in with a fork until it gets crumbly. Add 4 tblsp. of water one at a time and then mix until a dough forms. It will seem too wet at first, but it is fine. This recipe will make two crusts. I then rolled it out between waxed paper with a little flour on one paper.

chicken pot pie 2

I put a small crust on the bottom of the pie pan, then added the chicken and veggies.

chicken pot pie 3

This is not a perfect crust, but is there ever a perfect pie crust? To me it is a little rustic 🙂 I baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.

chicken pot pie 6

Does a pot pie ever stay together? Oh so delicious it was. The crust was flakey, and the meat was tender. There was only one portion left and guess who took it in her lunch the next day?

This is another example that you can cook healthy and still have that home cooked meal at the same time. I will be making this again this winter, but I might make individual pies instead. Ramekins or if I am lucky to find them.  mini pie tins, will grace the dinner table with beef pot pies.

 

Beth

 

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. When making a pie crust for a fruit pie you will want to spread the top crust with milk and sprinkle with sugar. That way the crust is brown and really flakey. This pie crust came from an OLD, OLD FARM JOURNAL.

    • It is a little different when you mix it and when you roll it out. It really isn’t like a crust made with shortening, butter or lard, but it is good when it is baked.

Leave a Reply

