Sweet Potatoes

I am not sure what it is about eating unprocessed and healthy, but I come up with the weirdest combinations of food that actually turn out pretty tasty. The other night I made some grilled chicken, sweet potatoes and coleslaw. Well separate they would be ok, but when you make oven roasted sweet potatoes with coleslaw on top, it turns into a whole new world.

sweet potato dinner

I cut the sweet potatoes into quarters and sprinkled some olive oil, garlic powder and black pepper on them. Roast them at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes, turning once or twice while roasting. I know, who actually puts garlic on sweet potatoes right?

sweet potato dinner 2

I made my coleslaw a little differently this time. I usually use a light mayo, but this time I used plain greek yogurt. I used about a half head of cabbage sliced into strips, 1 green pepper sliced julienne, just about 1/4 cup of chopped onions, 1 cup of greek yogurt, 1/4 cup milk and a sweetener of choice. I used a little honey, but you could use some white or brown sugar.

This was a great combination since the sweetness of the potatoes and the tartness of the yogurt blended well with the spices on the potatoes, the  flavors just marinated in my mouth :). When you bite into the crunchy cabbage and peppers, then a soft potato meets the crunch, it is fantastic!

Try getting adventurous in the kitchen, you never know what you can come up with 🙂

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

