October Unprocessed

It is that time of year again where I am participating in the October Unprocessed challenge.  If you have never heard of it then click on the button to the right of the screen and check it out. Most of the food that I eat is 98% unprocessed so this challenge isn’t hard for me. As a person with heart disease I do have to realistically eat some things that are processed. Butter, for example, is pure. Can I have it? NO!! It is something that is in a natural state but it also has a lot of cholesterol that I am not aloud to have, so I have to eat what recommended by the AHA. I do eat fresh fruits, vegetables and whole grains on a daily basis and it is rare that I consume anything out of a package.

spaghetti squash

When participating in this challenge I try to come up with meals that I might never have had before. I tried spaghetti squash for the first time this week and it was delicious. I made some turkey meatballs with my homemade sauce full of mushrooms, onions and peppers and I am pretty sure that I will make it again in the month of October. My family ate it, but I am not sure if they ate it to keep me happy or if they truly liked it :).

blog pics

One of our locally owned stores is having their annual sale this week and I have been stocking up on a lot of fresh produce, and other items that in theory could be made at home. The produce isn’t organic, but at these prices it will help the grocery bill for the month. I will be buying organic items when the price is right.  The peppers will be turned into stuffed peppers, apples will be canned for “homemade desserts”, and the carrots and cabbage are great for soups, stews etc. The cheese is for the rest of my family who likes to make sandwiches and has the occasional snack of cheese and crackers.

If you have never participated in this challenge, I encourage you to do so. It is a wake up call to what you are putting into your body. Some people have taken it and have stuck with it because they lost weight. Others have stuck with it because they feel so much better and have energy that they never new they had.

I don’t want to get into all of the details here, but if you click here it will explain everything that you need to know about the challenge and any other questions you may have when starting on the unprocessed journey.

Make this a lifelong commitment, I have. Sure there will be those days that we have that moment where cheat, but don’t beat yourself up over it. Just get back on track and stay focused on the reason why you started the journey. I have a motto that I have lived by for years now, You need to eat to live, not live to eat.

Take the challenge this year. If you only want to try it for one day, one week, or two weeks at least you can say that you took the challenge to take the power over what goes into your body.

 

Beth

 

 

Leave a Reply

