Fruit and Nut Oatmeal Bites

We didn’t have anything in the house for breakfast the other day and I remembered that I had pinned a recipe on Pinterest for some oatmeal thingy. I looked and found the recipe and I knew that it would be a hit in my home since not all of us eat cereal. You can find the original recipe here on my Pinterest page. I pretty much stuck to the original recipe except that I threw a  few a little add ins in them.

012

I stuck with the same ingredients although I used 3 egg whites instead of 1 egg and 1 egg white, and I used 1/8 teaspoon if salt instead of 1/4.

014

I chopped up one apple and used it without measuring the exact amount.

015

Someone had given me this bag of cranberries so I thought that this would be a great add in to the oatmeal bites. I added these when I threw in the apples.

018

I also had a bag of pecans still in the refrigerator so I threw a handful into my chopper and gently put them on top of the batter before baking. The end result is just like an “oatmeal muffin”. The longer that these sit, the more moist they become…..if they last that long in your house :).

This is a healthy way to start your day, and end it if you want a snack before you go to bed :), that’s what I did last night. These make an easy, portable breakfast for those that like to take something with them to work or school.

Happy eating!

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

