A Little of This And That

My son is working a shift that requires him to go to bed real early so we needed a new curtain for his bedroom. When I got out of work yesterday I ran to our local Big Lots to see what kinds of curtains they had. I found exactly what I was looking for and since I hadn’t been in that store in awhile, I perused the aisles.

003

Our old cookie jar sort of bit the dust several months ago and since then I have been looking for one. This isn’t exactly what I was looking for, but for a couple of dollars I thought that it would do for now. I was getting tired of looking at a plastic container sitting on the shelf and I wanted something a little more “eye catching” to hold our cookies.

I also found something else that caught my eye.

005

This was one of those purchases that was frivolous but I loved the bottles. It is hard to tell in the picture but the bottles say dairy on them. I think that they are cute and you could put anything in them, soda pop, smoothies, or whatever you want. I also found some health food items that seem to make their way to a Big Lots. I was fortunate to find some unsalted beef broth, no salt potato chips and some white vinegar that I was needing. It’s funny how a little shopping trip can make me happy.

006

Who puts flowers on their table? Not me, I put licorice. Even though I can’t eat any, if someone wants a piece all they have to do is walk past the table and grab one. Who said that candy is for children?

002

And last but not least, I canned 8 pints of relish today. One jar isn’t totally full, but I am glad that every jar sang it’s little tune and sealed.

It has been a busy summer, but at least I can still find time to get my canning done. There is nothing more satisfying than standing back and looking at shelves full of food that you put up for your family.

This is what I have been up to lately, what have you been doing?

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

