Found Treasures

It is such a dreary day here today and I had a lot of places to be today, but the rain didn’t co-operate with any of it. I did make it to a few garage sales early this morning and I am glad that I did. I found something that I have been wanting for a long time!

005

An antique washstand! The lady that was selling it had it in her home for 40 years and she was told by a family member that they thought that it was 100 years old. It is in excellent shape but if I want to refinish it, I could. I love the way it looks without refinishing it. This picture was taken with the flash on.

006

This is with the flash off. This picture makes it look just a hair darker than in person. I was told that the pulls on it are original but the knob isn’t. If you look close enough, I have to agree with what she said. It is solid oak and you can definitely tell that it isn’t that particle board stuff you find at Wal Mart. Guess how much I paid for it? $50!!!!! The lady told me that right before I got there some man wanted to pay $25 and she told him that was too low so he walked off. I told her that I would gladly pay the $50 and take it home. She asked me if I was going to refinish it and resell it and I told her that I was definitely keeping it, but I wasn’t sure if I was going to refinish it or not. She didn’t care if I was going to sell it or not. I was just happy to bring it into my home :).

My other little treasure that I found today was a canning jar.

002

Ironically, it came from the same sale as the washstand. I love the fact that it has the zinc lid and glass liner inside. I paid $3 for it and I am just going to use it as a decoration in my kitchen.

Funny how going to garage sales, even in the rain, can get your juices flowing for finding a treasure that you never knew you needed or wanted. I only purchased two other things, a novel and a pretty top, but I left the sales feeling like I accomplished something today. I knew that I have always wanted a washstand, but I had put it out of my mind since they are always expensive and I am too frugal of a person to spend hundreds of dollars.

I guess it was meant to be that I was in the right place at the right time!

 

Beth

4 thoughts on “Found Treasures

Leave a Reply

