A Berry Good Cookie

I haven’t made cookies in a while and I had that guilt syndrome kick in today. I wasn’t in the mood to make the usual chocolate chip or peanut butter, so I went through the cupboards to see what was on hand. Hmm, premade sugar cookie pouch, a package of dried fruit and the white chocolate chips that I mentioned in my previous post. Yep, sounds like the makings of a cookie to me!

009

The dried berries are blueberries, cherries and cranberries. Preheat your oven according to the package directions. I set mine for 350 degrees.

011

Make the cookie mix according to the package directions. Then add 1 cup of dried fruit.

014

Then add one cup of white chocolate chips. Mix gently with a slow mixer so not to break the chips and berries. Bake for 7 to 9 minutes.

018

These cookies were delicious! I have never had white chocolate in a sugar cookie, and I usually don’t like white chocolate, but this is sinful. I do have a trick when making sugar cookies, USE PARCHMENT PAPER!!!!!! I can’t tell you how many times I have burnt the bottom of my sugar cookies when putting the dough directly on the cookie sheets. And another trick when baking cookies, don’t let your cookies bake for the total time called for. If they look just a little under cooked, take them out of the oven and they will continue to bake when sitting on the rack to cool. They have to be almost cooked, like if you touch one they don’t stick to your finger, but have that glossy look. It takes a while to learn this. I learned this many years ago on a TV show. When I told my mom this she said she didn’t know that. See, you can learn something new everyday!

I don’t normally eat cookies anymore  but they have fruit in them so that makes it ok, right?

 

Beth

 

4 thoughts on “A Berry Good Cookie

  1. I love how you dressed up a mix! I love semi homemade recipes. Thanks for sharing…..and anything with fruit automatically makes it healthy 😉 ~Blessings~

Leave a Reply

