Homemade Granola Bars

My family loves granola bars and when I scoured recipes in books and recipes on the internet a lot of them called for a lot of sugar and fat. I really don’t want to feed my family non healthy food to start their day with, so I came up with this recipe. I was told that this was a hit, but next time could I please add some chocolate chips, raisins or something else. So I am actually going to make another batch with some (very little) chocolate chips and maybe some sunflower seeds today.

001

Mix together in a bowl 1 cup crispy rice cereal, 2 cups quick cooking oatmeal, and 1/2 cup of flax seed. You could substitute wheat germ or nuts if you like. Set to one side.

003

In a microwave safe bowl combine 3/4 cup peanut butter, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. of vanilla, and 1/2 cup of honey. Microwave until smooth and creamy. Cook at 25 or 30 intervals that way it won’t get too runny.

005

Mix the peanut butter mixture and the oatmeal mixture together. I started to stir it together with my spatula, but it quickly became obvious that using my hands was a lot easier :).

012

Line a 8×8 pan with aluminum foil and put the mixture in the pan. Chill for an hour in the refrigerator and then you can cut them into bars.

015

I used a pizza cutter to cut the bars and it worked really slick! While I liked these bars, and I am usually a peanut butter lover, I actually thought that these were too sweet so I might cut back on the honey and peanut butter next time. I was given a jar of almond butter so I will try that sometime along with some chopped almonds and maybe some wheat germ.

These bars make a great on the go breakfast. They are filling and if you have a banana and fat free milk along with it, this will hold you all morning and will curb those mid morning munchies!

 

Beth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

