Baking From The Pantry – Apple Dessert

When you shop and stock up the pantry, you don’t want to put things away and then forget about them. It doesn’t hurt to go through your cupboards once in a while to use up items that might expire soon. That is what I did today. I had noticed that my flour tortillas were just past the “best by” date and I also had some home canned chunky applesauce that no one but me likes, so I came up with a dessert. I had seen this idea on numerous sites and didn’t really have an exact recipe as every single sight I found it on didn’t give an exact temperature and some didn’t even give an exact time. So I was winging it in the kitchen today.

001

You will need 6 flour tortillas, I used a medium size one as that what was in my pantry, 1 can of apple pie filling and cinnamon. Spoon a heaping 1/4 cup full of pie filling, or in my case applesauce, in the middle of the tortilla and sprinkle with cinnamon. My applesauce didn’t have any sugar or cinnamon in it like a canned pie filling would have so you can add some sugar if you use applesauce with no added sugar.

003

When done adding the filling, fold the tortillas like a burrito and tuck the ends in and place into a greased pan. As you can tell, my tortillas were starting to dry out so this was a good recipe to use them in. Put them to one side.

005

In a pan put 1/2 cup of butter or margarine, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 cup of water. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 3 minutes. Then pour over the tortillas. Let sit for 25  minutes. While that is sitting, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Bake for 20 minutes.

009

When they come out of the oven I spooned some of the ooey gooey sugary syrup over them and then let them cool in the pan for a while.

023

I didn’t have to twist my daughters arm to split one with me. I mean when you bake something for the first time you have to test it right? It was a hit with her, after all she is my mini me and we both have that sweet tooth :).

I like this quick dessert because it was made with items that I always have in my kitchen. Even though I didn’t have the apple pie filling, I improvised with the applesauce. Nothing was spent out of my pocket and I used up items that were in my pantry. Nothing went to waste.

There is that old saying from the Great Depression, Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without. I try to live by that saying as much as possible and when it comes to the food that we grow or buy, I try not to waste any of it. The prices are soaring in the grocery stores so being frugal in the kitchen helps with your grocery budget, and your sweet tooth!

 

Beth

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

