Pulled Pork and Cole Slaw Sandwiches

On Monday I had made some pork in the crockpot that had Dr. Pepper and onions all over it. I personally didn’t eat it but did taste it and it was so tender and delicious that I couldn’t believe that we had leftovers. Well today I noticed that the pork was still in the refrigerator and I didn’t want it to go to waste so I thought that I would make some sandwiches with it. I put some bbq sauce on it and stuffed it in some frozen (thawed) bread dough.

002

010

Nothing fancy but they sure smelled good while they were baking. My hubby couldn’t wait until they cooled to dive into them. I told him to wait cause I had a bigger plan.

003

I had a half of a head of cabbage, half an onion and a red pepper left in the fridge so I was going to make some coleslaw but decided to leave it chunky instead of grated. I like this way on sandwiches…..I bet you know where this is going.

007

I just mixed 1/2 cup of salad dressing (not mayo), 1/4 milk, 1 tbsp. sugar, 1/4 tsp. salt, and a pinch each of black pepper and celery seed and poured it over the vegetables. It is creamy, but not too creamy that it over powers the sandwich.

011

I purposely cut this in half to show the pork inside the bun. I would have just cut a slit into it and then stuffed it with the slaw.

013

The zing of the salad dressing and the sweetness from the red pepper gives the slaw a great flavor.

015

This sandwich was soooooooo gooooood! And to think that this came from leftovers and frozen dough. Who knew? Hubby wanted more meat in his, but I told him that I was using leftovers so next time I will just cook enough pork to make more filling.

These would be great with some homemade French fries or potato salad and a tall glass of iced tea. Oh I can just picture it now…..summertime with a sandwich and iced tea. Now that is something to look forward to.

 

Beth

 

2 thoughts on “Pulled Pork and Cole Slaw Sandwiches

  1. This sounds right up our alley, I will definitely try it! First things first though, how much Dr. Pepper did you use in the crockpot originally, any water, or just Dr. Pepper? Thanks!
    Mary in GA

    • I had purchased a 1 1/2 liter bottle of Dr. Pepper and used half of it in the crockpot with no water. Don’t use any other pop/soda because for some reason Dr. Pepper is the only one that has a “spice” to it. Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

