Potato Puffs

I made these Potato Puffs in the beginning of the week and I really want to make them again. They are easy to make and are awesome! Even if you don’t have mashed potatoes on hand, just do what I did and make up some instant. I actually saw this on the internet and I kinda sorta fell in love with them. Bad grammar I know, but who cares when it involves comfort food.

004

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and lightly grease 8 to 9 wells of a muffin pan. In my case I just greased the whole pan and filled up every well. Mix up some instant mashed potatoes or if you already have some made then go right ahead and use them. You will need 3 cups of potatoes. Leave set to one side.

003

In a medium bowl whisk 2 eggs, then mix in 1/3 cup of sour cream. Mine looks different because I used just egg whites.

005

Mix into the egg mixture 1 heaping cup of sharp cheddar cheese, 2 tblsp  Parmesan cheese, 2 tblsp chopped parsley or chives, and salt and pepper to taste.  Again, mine looks different because I didn’t use sharp cheddar. I used a lower fat cheese mixture blend.

007

You now want to mix the potatoes and the cheese mixture together thoroughly. Spoon the mixture into the greased muffin pan filling the cups slightly below the top. Again, I have problems with that :), I always think more is best. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until they pull away from the sides of the cups and are golden brown. When they are done, remove from oven but let them cool for 5 minutes before removing from the pan.

014

Serve with more sour cream if desired. Now, I noticed that these taste just like the twice baked potatoes that I make except that my twice baked ones have garlic in them. So you could put what ever you want into the puffs. Maybe you like onions, garlic or maybe even a little cayenne to jazz them up a little. The night that I made them my children were late coming home and didn’t eat dinner with us, so I just let them sit on the cooling rack. My daughter came in the door and thought that they were muffins, so she just picked one up and bit into it. When she did this I thought that this would be great for little children to just pick up and eat.

This is another one of those recipes that you can make according to your needs. Since I eat low fat, I used fat free sour cream, low fat cheese, egg whites and omitted the salt. Everyone here liked them and they didn’t even know that they were low in fat.

Who said eating healthy had to taste boring?

 

Beth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Potato Puffs

Leave a Reply

