Puppy Chow

Years ago when my kids were young teens we would make what we called Monkey Munch. Come to find out everyone else called it Puppy Chow, oh well it all tastes the same. This is one of those throw together at the last minute snacks/desserts that you can take anywhere. My daughter needed to make something at the last minute so this is what she came up with. I unfortunately wasn’t thinking about pictures when she was making it so I apologize for leaving some pics out.

You will need:

1 bag of semi sweet chocolate chips

1 stick margarine

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 12.3 oz. rice cereal

3 cups powdered sugar

Melt the first three ingredients together in a microwave safe bowl and cook in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes. Stir and if it doesn’t all seem melted, cook an additional 10 to 15 seconds. In a separate large bowl mix with the cereal until well coated. I like to use my hands so that everything gets coated and the cereal doesn’t break. Plus I like to look like I was playing in the chocolate and I can lick my hands when I am done :). Gotta love chocolate! Put the powdered sugar in a big Ziploc bag and then add the cereal mixture to it. Seal shut tightly and shake it all up until well coated.

001

Now all you have to do is put it in an airtight container until it is all eaten up, which probably won’t take too long. For an added flavor you can mix 1/2 cup of hot cocoa mix to the powdered sugar.

Now I have to say that this is rich and I for one used to eat it and think nothing of it. Now that I don’t eat many sweets anymore I find it too sweet. It is great to take to a party or anywhere there will be a lot of people to munch on it, hence why I called it Monkey Munch.

003

Notice the clumps? I guess some of it didn’t get mixed well. Those are the tasty pieces if you love chocolate and peanut butter together smothered in sugar.

So  the next time you will be around a crowd of monkeys or puppies make this sweet dessert, they will love it!

Beth

4 thoughts on “Puppy Chow

  1. We had this when i was a kid… called it ‘muddy munch’ and we shook it in little brown lunch bags if it was a group of us … large brown bags if it was just gramma or mom … Loved it!

Leave a Reply

