Calzones

I haven’t felt like myself for the last few days so I didn’t spend anytime in the kitchen or on my blog. My stomach was upset and I just didn’t feel like doing a whole heck of a lot. I woke up this morning and when I took my shower I felt like a million bucks. Yeah!!! I am back to my old self. I am sure that my family feels the same because guess who is the cook and dishwasher in the family, yep you guessed correctly ME! I did feel  a little guilty so I thought that I would make something different that I have never made before. Something that I hoped would turn out. Well it did…Success!!!!!!!! This is more of a meaty calzone, not your typical Italian kind. I wasn’t sure if my stomach was up to all of that sauce so I left it out. That way if anyone wants to dip it in the sauce they can and I will have mine plain.

006

I made my own pizza dough and rolled out two crusts.

009

While I was making the dough and crusts, I had one pound of lean ground beef, some onions, peppers. mushrooms, and two cloves of garlic browning in the skillet. I did season it with some pepper. You may add salt if you want more flavor.

At this point I was doing a little dancing around the kitchen :). I had some music on and hadn’t exercised in a few days so I figured some dancing would do me some good plus it is good for your spirits. Have you ever danced and cooked at the same time? I bet you have. At least no one was home to see me with a wooden spoon in hand as a microphone. I know your smiling at that one.

011

Anyway put some cheese on half of the dough, any cheese will do. Whatever you prefer.

013

Then I put the cooked meat mixture and more cheese on.

016

Fold the crust in half to cover the meat and cheese. Crimp the edges so nothing will come out. I then brushed them with a little extra virgin olive oil, garlic powder and parsley and baked them at 425 degrees for 12 minutes.

018

They turned out delicious! And the house smells like a restaurant, an added bonus.

021

Look at the ooey gooey goodness. You could use Italian sausage, instead of the burger but then your house might smell like the county fair. Of course then you would need to make fries to go with it. Gosh now I am dreaming of summer.  I think that the dancing went to my head.

Maybe I should dance around the kitchen more often. The food seems to taste better and I get exercise at the same time :)…..

Beth

2 thoughts on “Calzones

    • Do you mean the PA storm? If so, we have been not too bad here in NW PA compared to the eastern part of the state. We have relatives in the Philly area and they have been in bad shape.

Leave a Reply

