Blueberry Bars

It might be Super Bowl Sunday, but we aren’t doing anything or going to any parties. As a matter of fact, my hubby is working again because of the latest snowfall. Oh well, I might as well be a little productive in the kitchen today. I was going through the freezer and found some blueberries so I pulled out my recipe for blueberry squares. This is a recipe that I usually make in the summer and is great for picnics.

002

To make the filling you will need 1 pint of blueberries, 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 rounded tblsp of cornstarch. Put all of the ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 3 to 4 minutes. Cool.

003

While the filling is cooling, make the crumb mixture. 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1/2 cup of margarine melted. Mix all of these ingredients as you would a pie crust. Put half of the crumb mixture into a 9×9 square pan, ( I used an 8×8 ) and press it all around.

Now add the filling mixture to the crumb crust. Top with remaining crumb mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until brown. If you have any left over, store in a tightly covered container. I usually never have any leftover :). If you add water to the blueberry filling it can be used over pancakes, waffles or French toast. Very tasty!

008

I also made some no bake cookies and have been organizing my pantry. Yes, it is a productive day in the kitchen!

 

Beth

One thought on “Blueberry Bars

Leave a Reply

