Apple Crisp

Brrr it has been a cold winter this year. We woke up this morning to a bone chilling -9 degrees, again. I am getting so tired of being cold this winter and having to wear layers upon layers of clothes just to go outside. Even inside I wear two layers of shirts. Unfortunately with this kind of weather I tend to cook foods that are “warm” and “comforting” which isn’t always the healthiest. I do try to adjust some recipes to be healthy but sometimes it just doesn’t taste the same if you do.

I found some apples that were too soft to be eaten fresh, but not in the bad, throw away state yet so I thought that I would make some apple crisp. I already had some venison cooking in the crockpot with some homemade cream of mushroom soup so I thought apple crisp would be a nice dessert with it. Hubby works outside all day so having a nice warm meal for him when he comes home is comforting and will help warm him up.

The recipe that I usually use calls for 5 pounds of apples. I am guessing that I only had between 2 to 3 pounds to use up so I cut the recipe in half and it turned out fine. This is one of those recipes that you really can’t adjust to make it healthy unless you cut back on sugar. Then if you do cut back on the sugar, it wont have that sweet taste that crisps have.

003

I am giving the amounts that I used to make it. Just double the amounts if you use 5 pounds of apples. I cut and layered my apples in a greased baking pan. I then sprinkled 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. (I did use the full amount of 2 tsp because we like cinnamon).

006

In a separate bowl combine 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup rolled oats, and 1/4 cup melted margarine. Mix until well crumbled. Spoon over the apples. I don’t use a spoon, I like to spread it over the apples with my hands. I am a hands on kind of person. Sometimes hands work better than spoons :).

007

Bake for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. I love the way the house smells when this is baking. That homey smell permeates throughout every nook and cranny and warms your senses. Can you smell it yet??? Mmmm it smells like heaven!

013

Now excuse me while I have my dessert first before everyone gets home from work. Warm apple crisp and a cup of tea, is a great way to keep yourself warm on a blustery day.

Do you think anyone will notice that I ate some?

 

Beth

 

2 thoughts on “Apple Crisp

  1. I love slow cooker dinners in this cold weather – though our temps are not nearly as low as yours… we are above zero at least – stay warm and safe!

    • I love slow cooker dinners anytime of the year! Put everything in the morning and forget about it, that is the way to go. As far as this weather…we are safe, but I am so tired of wearing layers just to keep warm.

Leave a Reply

