Mexican Chicken

Even though I eat and cook healthy, there are those moments that I just crave something from a restaurant. My adult children have been to Mexican restaurants and tell me how good they are and I always feel just a little bit jealous that they can at least try their food and I can’t. Well I finally tried something at home that was really yummy and got rave reviews from my kids. I knew that this was a keeper when my son walked into the house,smelled it and said that it smelled like it came from a Chipotle restaurant. My Mexican chicken, as I am calling it, is so easy to make and fairly healthy at the same time.

002

All that I did was brown three chicken breasts in a little canola oil.

006

When it was almost cooked I took it out of the pan to cut it up and drain some of the oil off. The longer you leave meat in oil to cook,  it soaks it up more so that is why I drained it before the chicken was done cooking.

008

You will now need one can of diced tomatoes, a can of diced green chiles, and some taco seasoning. There are two cans of tomatoes in the picture, but I only used one in the dish. I don’t know what I was thinking getting two cans out for this picture, I must have been in another world :).

016

Now since I have to watch my sodium I used Mrs. Dash southwest chipotle seasoning. I am sure that there are other spices on the market but this is the one that I used.

010

When I had put the chicken back into the pan I also sprinkled some of the chipotle seasoning and some of my homemade taco seasoning over it. Then I put the green chiles in and stirred it up a bit.

013

Next came the tomatoes. I dumped the whole can in and stirred it all up. I let it simmer until all of the spices blended together and the chicken finished cooking. I cooked up some rice and some of us ate it over the rice and some of us just put it in a tortilla. It is really yummy with some low fat shredded Mexican cheese and fat free sour cream on it!

This is another one of those meals that you can alter to your taste buds. If you like things more spicy, then you can throw in more chiles  to taste. You could even add some jalapenos if you like things hot, hot, hot! I love spicy foods, but not everyone in my house does so I just make it on the mild side.

I love being creative in the kitchen and it goes without saying that you can either adjust an existing recipe or come up with your own when you are really craving something.

Beth

2 thoughts on “Mexican Chicken

  1. This looks really yummy! I grow jalapenos which I can, and love to add to dishes like this. But–I’m married to a Mexican! So he likes things spicy. I’ve learned to like them that way, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment