Savings 2014 – Homemade Cleaners

In my quest to save more money this year I have been looking into making homemade cleaners. I have made homemade spray and wash and I must say that I will NEVER go back to store bought again. I love it! Here is the link to learn how to make it. I have tried homemade laundry soap, but for some reason I was getting itchy when I used it. Not sure what it would have been because I do use Fels Naptha for getting out tough stains anyway and I thought that the washing soda and borax were in commercial detergents anyway. Oh well, I just stick with the brands that I can use and just stock up on them when the sales and coupons allow me to. Here is the link if you want to learn to make your own detergent.

016

001

I know that buying the ingredients to make the cleaners can be purchased fairly cheap if you purchase them in bulk or at dollar stores. I have found that when I purchase the ingredients for making the spray n wash it is cheaper at Dollar General than Wal Mart. So make sure that whatever cleaner you make, do your price comparisons. This is where a price book would come in handy if you can’t remember prices in your head.

The cleaner that I just made and tried is a tub cleaner. I absolutely love it! It cleans awesome and smells so much better than the chemical laden commercial cleaners. My tub is sparking clean and actually makes the bathroom smell good.

I like the fact that most of the cleaners that I have made so far have some of the same ingredients, like the Dawn dish soap. I can get a huge bottle of it for just a couple of dollars and it can be used in numerous cleaners. Since it is a big bottle, it will last a long time.

I also have a money saving idea that I have used for years now when it comes to mopping the kitchen and bathroom floors. When the Swiffer Wet Jets first came out there were great sales, coupons and refunds. I purchased one of another brand and if I remember correctly, I got it for almost free. I used the cloths that came with it, but after they were gone I didn’t buy anymore. I was at Target after Christmas sales and there were plain white washcloths that had a snowflake on the tag so they were reduced 90% off. I paid 50¢ for a package of ten washcloths! I started using them on the bottom of the mop. The brand I have has four little slits in the top. I just wrap the cloth around the bottom and attach the corners of the cloth into the slits. I then use a cleaner in a spray bottle to spray the floor with and mop as usual. When I am done, I just toss the cloth into a basket that I keep by the washing machine for rags. When the basket is full, I just wash them. Simple and economical.

Just think of how much money we could save if we didn’t have to clean our homes? Since we have to live in a clean environment we might as well find cheap alternatives to do so. What do you use to clean your homes with?

Beth

4 thoughts on “Savings 2014 – Homemade Cleaners

  1. Have you tried to switch soaps in your powdered detergent? I’m sensitive myself (and don’t like the Fels smell). The Prudent Homemaker I think uses Caress….I use just plain old Ivory (let it sit out and dry before grating it). 1 bar of Ivory, 1 cup each borax and washing soda and 1/2 cup oxyclean. I even throw in some baking soda if its sitting there. 🙂 I’ve been using the Ivory for a while and so far everything seems to come out decent.

Leave a Reply

