Homemade Seasonings

 

When you cut salt out of your diet, you have to look for other ways to season your food. I used to buy the seasoning packets for tacos and I would generally get them for free or for pennies and I never thought too much about it. Even before my heart attack I would look at the ingredients in those packets and cringe at the thought of what I was putting in our bodies. Now I never look at those packets and I make my own seasonings. It is economical and we have actually decided that they taste better than the store counterparts.

001

These are the ingredients that you will need to make chili powder and taco seasoning. I actually had a post some time ago about how to make taco seasoning but I didn’t include the chili powder. The taco recipe calls for chili powder. When you look at the store bought chili powder, it has salt and other things that you cant pronounce. So I make my own version and add it to the taco recipe.

Chili Powder

2 tblsp paprika

2 tsp dried oregano, crumbled

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Mix everything together and store in a jar with a tight fitting lid.

Taco Seasoning

6 tsp chili powder

4 1/2 tsp cumin

3 tsp onion powder

5 tsp paprika

2 1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/8 to 1/4 cayenne pepper

Mix everything together and store in a jar with a tight fitting lid.

When mixing up seasonings you will want to store them for up to six months. Personally, mine never last that long. I try to buy my spices in bulk when possible, BUT know your prices. This is where a price book comes in handy. I have found that certain spices I can only find at my local Amish bulk food store so there is no shopping around for the best price. The others I compare prices with Aldi, a local store that has some bulk spices and a store that I am not sure if it is nationwide or not called Ollie’s.

004

This picture shows two spices that I purchased at Ollie’s for only $3.99 and the garlic was purchased at a locally owned grocery store. If Ollie’s would have had the garlic, I would have saved $3. Again, know your prices. I always look at the ounces and the price to compare which is cheaper. I always used to think that the Amish bulk food store had the cheapest prices around until I sat down and did some comparisons on paper. I had a real eye opener!

When I mix up the seasonings, I usually double the recipe so that I have it on hand for the next several meals that I will use them in. I really don’t like mixing it up at the last minute. I didn’t give an exact measure to make a meal because it will depend on your own taste. Generally I use roughly 2 tablespoons of taco seasoning for 1 pound of meat but I like it more strong tasting than others.  The chili powder I will add 1 tablespoon and then add more if needed to 1 pound of meat. I do it this way because chili simmers longer than taco meat and the longer the spices cook, the stronger they get. As far as the liquid goes in the taco, I just add 3/4 water or less depending how lean the meat is. It is pretty much the same amount as if you were using the packets.

I have made onion soup mix before as well, but I don’t have any made up right now. I am considering making some up since it would be nice to have on hand since colder weather is here. I will have to post that one at another time.

I would love to hear what everyone else makes and if you could share your recipes. I love trying new things :).

 

Beth

 

5 thoughts on “Homemade Seasonings

  1. I admire your commitment to adjusting your diet and cooking in light of your medical concern. I know so many people find that hard to do in light of heart disease or diabetes and I just want to say “Go You!”

    • Thank you. First I have to say that when the doctor sat at the end of my bed the day after my heart attack and told me that if I hadn’t lost weight before my attack, I would have died, I probably would have just ate what I wanted. I did watch my salt and fat after that but not like I do now. When I had my ICD implanted back in May I was told that I have CHF. Now if I eat more salt and fat in a day than I am aloud I can gain 1 pound over night. That means that I retained fluid. That is a big no-no. If I gain 2 pounds in 1 day, I am immediately to call my dr. As he put it, he wants me to be as healthy as possible so that I can see my grandchildren. With my heart working only 20 to 25% and having scarring on my heart, I am determined to do what I can to stay as healthy as I can. If I can change the way some people eat and maybe help prevent someone from going through what I have, then I have done my job here on earth.

Leave a Reply

