No Salt Italian Dressing

When I have fresh veggies to use up I like to make a veggie salad.  Today when I looked in the refrigerator I noticed that I had some fresh broccoli, cucumbers, one tomato and some onion that needed to be eaten soon. I cleaned them, chopped them and put them in a bowl.

003

What I like to do is add just a little shredded cheese as well so I put very little in. Then I made my Italian dressing and poured some over all of the veggies. I put the lid on the bowl and shook everything together.

007

Sometimes I have added garbanzo beans or diced chicken for protein for a complete meal. Tonight this was just a side to go along with grilled chicken and baked potatoes.

But my dressing is what I love! When I had my heart attack I had to find alternatives to salad dressings that I love. This recipe is courtesy of my mom.

009

I do double this recipe because my whole family loves it too. It will keep in the fridge for several weeks and anyone can just help themselves.

1/4 cup canola or olive oil

4 or 5 tablespoons of cider vinegar, depending on taste

1 teaspoon of Mrs. Dash Italian seasoning

1/8 teaspoon of wet minced garlic

pepper to taste

Mix everything together and store in the refrigerator.

I keep mine in a canning jar. I have never left it in a plastic container so I don’t know if that would change the flavor. I also prefer extra vinegar in mine.

I have experimented with different vinegars and have used olive and canola oils. It depends on what your tastes are as to what you will use. This recipe works great as a marinade for chicken and pork chops and I have even used it to make a pasta salad. This is a good alternative to store bought because it tastes good, is economical and I know what is in it!

 

Beth

2 thoughts on “No Salt Italian Dressing

Leave a Reply

