Hearty Corn Chowder

When the weather starts getting colder I love making soup. I haven’t touched a can of store bought soup in years, that stuff is disgusting. Since I had the day off and all I had to do was get some groceries, it was the perfect day to make some. I used to make this chowder the way the recipe is written. I have now since made it healthier, of course.

001

In a pot put in 2 cups cubed potatoes and 1 pint of corn. I had a can of low sodium corn and used it, drained. Add 2 cups water. Cook until potatoes are tender. While this is cooking….

005

Saute  1 cup cubed bacon until crisp. Remove from pan and fry 1 diced medium onion in bacon fat until soft. What I did since I used low sodium turkey bacon is I sauted the bacon and onion together with a little canola oil since the bacon doesn’t leave any grease. Stir in 4 tablespoons of flour to the bacon  mixture. Add 3 cups of milk slowly. I used fat free milk. Using a whole milk will make it creamier.

008

Pour the bacon/onion mixture into the potato/corn mixture. Add 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. I only used 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Stir until well mixed and mixture boils. Serve hot.

This is another one of those recipes that you can adapt to what your dietary needs are. The funny thing is that no one even complained that there was not enough salt in it. Goes to show that you don’t need that much in soup. I have made this recipe for years, using the original and my now healthier version.

It is a filling soup that you could put a little cheddar cheese on top if you desire. My daughter did that and it looked delicious.

009

This was another recipe that came from a state grange cookbook. There is something about those books that has the best recipes in them.

Corn chowder, a bowl of fresh fruit, and some homemade chocolate chip cookies for dessert warmed our bodies up on a cold day today.

 

Beth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hearty Corn Chowder

  1. This sounds so good, my mother use to make this all the time, I will try yours now, Thanks for sharing, love your blog. Have a Blessed day, Kay

Leave a Reply

