Pancakes, Breakfast or Dinner?

Did you think that I was missing in action? Sorry that I haven’t been on here for almost a week. It has been just a little busy around here. Some last minute decisions were made as our son come home this past weekend for his birthday. My “baby” boy is now 22. WOW!! Where did the time go.

011

Here is my college senior. We are so proud of what he has accomplished so far. He has actually done more in his life so far than I have done in my lifetime. Happy Birthday Matt!

Ok now back to my regular post. Pancakes! You can make so many different pancakes that the possibilities are endless. For our breakfast on Sunday I made different kinds of pancakes to keep everyone happy. I don’t use a conventional recipe, I use one from the American Heart Association. It doesn’t have any salt in it except what salt is in the baking powder.

006

Mix 1 cup unbleached or all purpose flour, 2 tablespoons sugar, 2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1/8 teaspoon of cinnamon if desired. In a small bowl mix 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of fat free milk, 1 large egg or 2 egg whites, 2 teaspoons canola oil and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, gently mixing until the batter is just moistened. I wait about 10 minutes before I put any batter onto the griddle. It lets the baking powder start to work and the batter becomes “fluffy”. This recipe doesn’t make enough for us, so I double it.

007

At this point I add what everyone wants. Some wanted blueberries and some wanted chocolate chips.

009

Blueberries that I took out of the freezer.

008

A pile of chocolate chip pancakes waiting to be devoured.

010

I just made piles of plain, blueberry and chocolate chip pancakes and but them out in  a buffet style. Next time I am going to have to make some banana walnut and some apple pancakes. We are fortunate that we have a neighbor that makes pure maple syrup, so if we ever run out we know where to go to buy it. When I canned my blueberries this year I did make some blueberry syrup. When the snow starts to fly I will pop one of those open and pour it over some pancakes or biscuits.

We have a local store that makes their own breakfast sausage and it is fairly low in fat and has a great flavor. I have considered browning it up and then sprinkling some ground sausage into the pancakes while they cook. I might have to make it for dinner some night when I really don’t want to make a big meal. Like I said, the possibilities are endless.

These make a hearty meal when served with milk or juice and some fruit on the side. They are also an economical meal when you are watching your pennies. What would you add to your pancakes?

 

Beth

 

3 thoughts on “Pancakes, Breakfast or Dinner?

  1. We are fans of B4D – Breakfast for Dinner! However, my pancake recipe is not nearly as healthy as yours… I use my great grandmother’s recipe and skip the ‘fry in bacon fat step’… That was one of my great grams favorite steps – in a lot of her recipes! but those look great!!!

Leave a Reply

