Macaroni and Cheese

When I stand in the kitchen in the mornings and wonder what we are going to have for dinner, I mentally go through my mind and think what we have the most of stockpiled and try to come up with something. This morning I found several different kinds of cheese and lots of whole wheat elbow macaroni in the pantry. I then rooted through the pantry a little more and found two cans of fat free evaporated milk. It quickly became a macaroni and cheese night. Now for all of you saying that this isn’t unprocessed, rest assured the only thing that isn’t unprocessed in the evaporated milk. I of course had to use the low fat cheese and milk that I always have on hand, but you can use whole milk and regular cheese for the unprocessed. The recipe called for melted butter, but I didn’t put any in.

003

You will need one 8 oz box of macaroni, 1 12 oz can evaporated milk, 1 1/2 cup milk, 2 eggs, 1/4 melted butter, 1 teaspoon salt and 3 cups of sharp cheese. Cook 3 to 4 hours on low in the crockpot. I doubled the recipe so that we will have plenty for another meal for the night that I have to work late and for lunches if anyone wants something other than sandwiches. I personally won’t eat too much of it due to all of the cheese, but I will have some with a salad tonight.

After putting it in the crockpot, I realized that we haven’t had this in almost a year. I don’t think to make it because I am not supposed to have a lot of cheese. This is definitely one of those comfort foods that you don’t make too often. It is also great to take to picnics.

 

Beth

2 thoughts on “Macaroni and Cheese

  1. That sounds amazing! We eat a lot of maccheese in this house! I cook a modified version of my great-grandmothers recipe – I use less than half a stick of butter instead of a whole stick, and I use 1% milk instead of heavy cream! Its very yummy! I some time will add, peas finely chopped broccoli, and even some bacon or pepperoni –

    • I thought about adding some chicken to it for myself while I know that my family would rather have small pieces of ham. Bacon sounds really good too! I like the fact that this recipe is so easy. I just cooked the pasta a little before putting it in the crockpot.

Leave a Reply

