Apple Crumb Cake

This isn’t one of the healthiest recipes but it sure is good, and with it being autumn, apples are plentiful. I had one of those moments where I thought that I should bake something and I had more apples than I knew what to do with so I thought that I would make an apple cake. I turned to one of the many PA State Grange cookbooks that I absolutely love and found a recipe for apple cake.

Mix 3 cups flour, 1 cup sugar, 4 teaspoons baking powder, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt in a bowl. In a separate bowl combine 2 eggs, 1 1/2 cups milk, and 6 tablespoons canola oil. Combine the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients together just until moistened.

010

Spread half of the batter into a greased 9×13 pan. Arrange 3 cups of sliced apples on batter. Make a crumb topping with 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 flour, 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 1/2 cup softened margarine. Sprinkle half of the crumbs on top of the apples.

012

Spread remaining batter and sprinkle remaining crumbs. Bake at 400 degrees for 35 minutes.

014

While this was baking it made the house smell so good. I did have a piece and it was delicious! I did cut back on the salt to only 3/4 tsp. and didn’t notice anything different in the texture. The longer that this cake sits, the more moist it becomes. The recipe didn’t call for raisins, but if I would have had my way I would have put some in.

This makes a great snack and if you are so inclined to do so, it would be great with your morning coffee or tea :). Now if you will excuse me, I will be picking the crumbs from the bottom of the pan.

 

Beth

 

 

Leave a Reply

