Unprocessed Food Challenge

Today is October 1st and it is the beginning of the unprocessed challenge. Well let me start off by saying that on a normal day, I eat lots of fresh fruits and veggies and very little unprocessed food. BUT I love my unsalted pretzels as a snack. I tried all day long not to eat them. I usually have them for my snack at around 2:00 in the afternoon and I was scrounging today for something to eat. I ended up with a few walnuts and I am sorry, but they didn’t cut it.

I did make some awesome sandwiches yesterday and today.  I used the buns that I made on Sunday and I put a homemade chicken salad in it.

005

I used some chicken that I shredded up and mixed with it some Greek yogurt, dill, pepper, onion powder and celery seed. If I have time I chop up onions and celery instead of using the spices. On top of the salad I put just a pinch of low fat cheese. It was so good and filling.

I know that I am going to continue eating healthy the rest of my life, but I am going to see a bit of an issue with certain things with this challenge. I thought that I could do it, but in reality I don’t know if I can go a whole month. I know that some people are only trying it for a week. I am thinking that is my first goal. If I feel that I can do that, then I might try for two. I know that we do have a birthday this month, soo I will be cheating then :).

I did put some apple slices in the dehydrator today. I sprinkled some cinnamon on them so that when they are done, it would be a healthy and tasty snack.

009

I have to say that my house smells really good right now! I am not sure how I will sleep tonight because I will probably be dreaming about apple pies, apple crisp, apple dumplings…………

I am sure that when I wake up in the morning, I will find drool all over the pillow. Well at least it will be a nice day to hang sheets on the line :).

 

Beth

2 thoughts on “Unprocessed Food Challenge

  1. Good for you! I need to get back on the real food wagon! Just wanted to pass this on in case you haven’t seen it yet, but I love the blog, “100 days of real food” I spent almost an entire day reading old posts about her family’s journey. She also has great recipes. Good luck! 🙂

    • I have seen that blog and it is very informative. You know the funny thing is that I have not touched a fast food meal in 2 years. I don’t eat chips, cookies junk like that. I do make my own cookies for the family but I don’t eat them. Since my heart attack, I always eat real food, but I do eat unsalted pretzels, graham crackers, store bought bread, and cheerios. If that is my only downfall, then I think that I am doing pretty well :).

Leave a Reply

