Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Years ago when I was searching for ways to save money I stumbled across this recipe to make your own chocolate syrup. It is more economical that buying store bought, even the store brands. I know that I usually preach eating healthy, but every once in awhile you have to have a treat. I look at it this way, I at least know what is in it. It only calls for 5 ingredients and is super easy and does not take long to make, but it does have to sit awhile. You do have to use a hot sterilized jar to put it in so keep a jar ready for when the syrup is done. I don’t have vanilla extract so I used imitation. If you use the extract, don’t use the full 1/4 tsp.

011

1/2 cup of cocoa

1 cup of water

2 cups of sugar

1/8 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp vanilla

013

Mix cocoa and water in a saucepan. Heat and stir to dissolve cocoa.

014

Add sugar, stir to dissolve. Boil 3 minutes.

016

Remove from heat and add salt and vanilla. Stir gently.

021

Pour into a sterilized pint jar. The original recipe said to use a pint jar but I use a quart because for some reason I had more syrup than jar. Store covered in refrigerator. It will keep for several months if you don’t have chocolate hounds in your house :). Just make sure that you follow the recipe exactly or it will either be too runny or too thick. Don’t alter the amount of sugar or it won’t turn out. Let sit overnight before using for better consistency.

This is great over ice cream or mixed in with milk to make chocolate milk. It Is even good over brownies when you are having one of those nights when you just want to dive into chocolate because you had a bad day. Now don’t get me wrong, I have never done that 🙂

 

Beth

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Leave a Reply

