Sweet And Salty Bars

Several weeks ago I was talking with a friend and she told me that she saw someone on tv making rice crispy treats only they used pretzels. That got my wheels turning and I was thinking of something sweet and salty. So I came up with my own version of something that is gooey delicious!

001

I first melted the margarine and marshmallows like when you make crispy treats. Once they were almost melted, I then added some peanut butter/chocolate chips to melt as well. I used approximately 1/2 of the bag of chips.

003

While everything is melting, you will want to crush up 6 cups of pretzels.

006

I had a 16 oz bag of pretzels and that was the equivalent of 6 cups when crushed. When everything is melted, remove from heat and add the pretzels. Grease a pan and pour the sweet gooey goodness into the pan and let cool.

011

When these were almost cool I cut into them because, well I just couldn’t stand it anymore! I thought that they were pretty good, but my daughter said they could be better if we had more chocolate in it or over it. So when I make these again, I will melt some dark chocolate and drizzle it over the top.

012

All in all they turned out pretty good. They definitely leave you licking your fingers when you eat one! Ooey gooey goodness at its best!

 

Beth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet And Salty Bars

Leave a Reply

