Zucchini Bread

What am I supposed to do on a day off? I should be cleaning and finally de-cluttering the backroom since we got my sons stuff moved out of there, but I don’t  feel like it. It looks like a daunting task and I am not in the mood to tackle it right now. It is raining outside and really I am really in the mood for something sweet and homemade. I looked in the freezer for something for dinner and found some shredded zucchini from last years garden. It is a good thing that we froze some because this years garden really didn’t produce much at all. I took the zucchini out to thaw and then went looking in the cupboard for something else for dinner. I ended up finding a can of pumpkin that I never used from the holidays last year. Since there really wasn’t enough zucchini in the bag I took the can of pumpkin out of the cupboard. I dug out my old recipe that I have used for years and decided to make some bread. I have never used canned pumpkin in this recipe but I thought what the heck let’s give it a try! It turned out delicious! I only had roughly one cup of zucchini in the bag so I used the whole can of pumpkin in the recipe.

002

Cream together 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of oil. Gradually add 3 eggs and 2 tsp vanilla. Beat well. I used 6 egg whites with no problem.

003

005

Grate 3 cups of zucchini or pumpkin. Add to the sugar/oil mixture and blend well. In a separate bowl combine 1 1/2 cups of white flour, 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 tsp each cinnamon, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Combine the two mixtures and blend well. Bake for one hour or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

007

This recipe makes 2 loaves of bread. You can cut some of the oil out but it won’t be as moist. If your family likes nuts and/or raisins you could add them as well. All white flour can be used instead of the half white/half wheat.

It sure made the house smell good while it was baking. Now I am relaxing with a piece of bread and a cup of tea. The cleaning and de-cluttering will wait until the next day off, maybe :).

Beth

Leave a Reply

