Hunter Style Chicken

Back when I gave birth to my daughter, my mom made dinner for my family so that we wouldn’t have to worry about cooking. She told me that it was a recipe that was in a cookbook that she had given me and I had never tried it yet. I am not sure if it was because I didn’t have to cook it but it was so delicious! I have made it numerous times since then and everyone loves it.

I have tweaked it since I now cook healthier and this is one of those dinners that I am not going to give up.

003

I browned 3 chicken breasts in a little canola oil and pepper. The recipe calls for salt too, but I didn’t use any.

005

While the chicken is browning, chop up 1 medium onion and set to one side.

008

In a bowl combine 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1/2 cup of steak sauce (I only used 1/4 cup), and two cans of tomatoes. The original recipe calls for only a 1 lb can of tomatoes but we like it a little more juicy.

012

Mix everything together and set aside.

015

At this point remove the chicken from the pan and remove any drippings, reserving 2 tablespoons in the pan. Brown 4 strips of turkey bacon and the onions in the drippings. When the bacon is done, cut it into 1 inch strips and leave it in the pan with the onions. Cut up the chicken into big chunks and add it back to the pan. Then add the bowl of tomatoes.

018

This is what it looks like when everything is together. Let it simmer until cooked together approx. 30 minutes. Serve over rice.

Now no one in my family complains that it needs more salt so it is up to you if you need more. The original recipe calls for legs and thighs with the skins on and regular bacon. If you use regular bacon, cook it first and then add the onions. When it is cooked, reserve 2 tablespoons of grease to cook the chicken pieces in. It calls for 2 to 3 pounds of chicken. Cook chicken and then add the bacon/onion mixture back to the chicken along with the tomato mixture. Let simmer for 45 minutes.

This is a hearty meal and we enjoy it over rice and with green beans on the side. Since it is another cool day today, I thought that this was a good dish to make.

Beth

2 thoughts on “Hunter Style Chicken

Leave a Reply

