Broccoli Salad (The Healthy Version)

Several years ago I had made up my mind to lose weight. When I was a stay at home mom, I gained weight and had tried to lose it, but I guess I needed some encouragement to go with the ambition. When I went back to work I thought that I would lose weight by being more busy. NOT!! I did maintain my weight, but I didn’t lose any. After talking with a co worker one time about what to eat while trying to lose weight, I found that you could alter any recipe that is not healthy and make it healthy. Duh (smack myself on the head)!!! Why didn’t I think of that? In the beginning of me losing weight I tried to modify recipes and when I did, my family would not like the taste of the food so I just gave up. I would cook the same, but I would just eat smaller portions.

Fast forward through 1 1/2 years, and having a heart attack, and having an ICD implanted I now modify ALL recipes whether the family likes it or not. This is how I have to eat now and it is better for all of them. After all, my kids have my genes.

With all of that said I have made a pretty darn good broccoli salad. When I go to picnics and see what others make, I drool. I shouldn’t eat half of the stuff there so I just come home and make my own. This is what I made to go with dinner tonight.

010

I chopped up a whole head of broccoli, half an onion, and I fried and chopped 1/2 pound of low sodium turkey bacon. I then added one cup of low fat Mexican blend cheese. I used that kind of cheese instead of cheddar because it is lower in fat and salt. We all like the taste of it so that is what I use. I mixed all of that together and set it to one side.

011

I then mixed up 1 cup of low fat mayo, 2 tablespoons of vinegar and 1/4 cup of Splenda. Then I added it to the broccoli mixture.

015

I know that it was not chilled, but it tasted pretty good.

I can’t wait for dinner tonight. Turkey kielbasa and zucchini on the grill, broccoli salad and baked red potatoes. Can anyone hear my stomach growling?

Beth

Leave a Reply

