Eating Healthy on The Cheap

I am just like everyone else where I have lazy days and I just want something quick to put in my lunch or something quick for dinner. I do have some tricks to eating healthy and saving money at the same time. First I have to admit that I don’t always practice what I preach :). There are those last minute moments that I am in the kitchen pulling my hair out and wondering what to pack in my lunch or what to make for dinner. Lately I have been doing some prep work that seems to take a little stress out of my day. I have been keeping cut up veggies in the refrigerator so that I have some snacks for lunches.

005

008

I love eating raw veggies instead of potato chips or crackers in my lunch. My son told me that if there are cut up veggies in the fridge, he would eat them instead of grabbing something that he shouldn’t.

I buy my veggies from Aldi when my garden isn’t producing. Some of the produce is organic at Aldi, which I like and it is also the cheapest there than anywhere else. If I can get to a farmers market, then I will buy from them. When you can get cheap fruits and veggies you don’t want them to go to waste. That is another reason why I cut up my veggies and leave them in the refrigerator. They won’t go bad if you can see them. I used to have a habit of leaving them in the crisper and forgetting that they were in there. Same with the fruit. I like to wash grapes and then leave them in a bowl in the fridge. That way they are already clean and all you have to do is grab what you want.

Eating healthy doesn’t mean that you have to buy expensive foods. I have gone to our local amish run bulk food store to buy whole wheat macaroni, yeast, oatmeal, cornmeal, and wheat germ. I do have to say that the spices at this bulk food store are expensive.

001

Buying healthy food in bulk is cheaper than buying it in individual packages.

002

If you can grow your own, that is even cheaper yet! I save old jars to store my home grown items in and anything that needs to be sealed. I have found that Wal Mart sells low sodium aluminum free baking powder. The last time that I was in Whole Foods I did buy some no sodium baking powder, but I haven’t tried it yet. I wasn’t as cheap as the stuff from Wal Mart but it was recommended by a cashier there.

004

I also make my own seasonings so that I know what is in them and it is cheaper than buying those little packages. I do keep some sugars on hand just in case I have to bake something. If kept in a sealed container they should be ok.

If your kitchen is well stocked with healthy food that was purchased in bulk and at it’s lowest price, and you have done a little prep work ahead of time, it will save you time and money.

Being healthy doesn’t have to break the bank. Branch out and find new places to shop. Sometimes I find places that I have never been before and realize that their prices are cheaper than where I was shopping before. Just don’t buy everything at one store. When you find something at its rock bottom price, stock up. You will save your money and your health!

Beth

Leave a Reply

