No Bake Cookie Bars

I was surfing the internet sometime ago and stumbled across this recipe. It had a “pin it” button to pin to Pinterest, so I thought that I would just pin it and when I had time I would make them. I made them this morning and let me just say that these are VERY rich and oh so sinful! They are a little different than a regular no bake but they are still simple to make.

006

In a pot melt 2 sticks of butter, 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of milk, and 4 tablespoons of cocoa. Bring all of this to a boil and boil for 1 minute.

009

010

Then add 1 tblsp. of vanilla extract (I don’t have any extract so I used the imitation), 3 cups of oatmeal, and 2/3 cup of peanut butter. Stir until well combined. Now add 1 cup of chocolate chips. Stir until well blended. Spread into a jellyroll/bar pan and refrigerate until firm. Then cut into squares.

027

As you can see, we couldn’t wait to try them. They really weren’t ready to be cut into yet, but we did anyway. These are richer than a regular no bake but are very good. I was a good girl and only had one bite just to see what they were like. I am sure that everyone else will enjoy them. My son was walking by the counter when I cut into it and he inhaled one with no problem.

This is one of those recipes that would be easy to take to a picnic if you wanted something quick. You could make it the night before and it would be ready to take the next day.

Happy eating!!

Beth

Leave a Reply

