Canning Season Has Arrived

I have been a little busy in the kitchen. Canning season has arrived and I am thoroughly enjoying it! I am not sure if it is the satisfaction of lining my shelves with the finished product, or that I know my family will enjoy the fruits of my labor this winter.

002

Canned strawberry jam! It sure will taste good on some homemade bread this winter. Or maybe even some of those healthy homemade biscuits that I make.

005

I can’t wait until the garden starts producing more so I can load up the canner again. I know it might sound silly, but I really do like canning. To me it is therapeutic, and I like the fact that I know what is in the food. I didn’t just go to the store and pick something off the shelf that is laden with additives and things that I can’t pronounce.

Have you canned anything yet? If so, I would love to hear what you canned.

Beth

4 thoughts on “Canning Season Has Arrived

  1. I’ve never canned, before. I’ve always been kind of afraid. But, I’m warming up to the idea. And I know I’d love homemade jar in the middle of winter. Yours looks great, by the way.

    • It really isn’t hard to can. If you get the Ball Blue Book for Canning it will show you step by step on how to can and freeze just about everything. If you do try to can something, let me know how you make out. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

