Homemade Ranch Dressing

As a heart attack survivor and now having an ICD I was told to really watch my salt and fat intake. I actually have never been one to use the salt shaker, but let’s face it, I like food. I am always thinking of ways to make something healthy so that it is something that I can eat but at the same time has flavor. My poor family has gone through a lot with my attempts at making our usual meals healthy. I have gotten the eye rolls because it “just doesn’t taste the same”.

I have been making our own Italian dressing for 1 1/2 years now. I don’t use it for pasta salads that I am taking to a picnic because it does have just a little different flavor that not everyone might like. I was really missing the ranch dressing on salads so I found a recipe that isn’t too bad and it is low in salt and fat. I like the flavor even though the original recipe calls for fresh herbs and I don’t grow that many herbs.

005

I do grow my own parsley and I store it in a canning jar with an old salt shaker lid under the band, not sure if you can see it in the picture.

The basic recipe for the dressing is very simple. I don’t buy buttermilk from the dairy section as I would never use it up quick enough so I just buy the powdered version to keep in my pantry.

006

Just make one cup buttermilk.

007

Dump the buttermilk and the remaining ingredients into a bowl and mix thoroughly.

009

Pour it into a container and store in the fridge for at least 2 hours before eating. The flavors need to blend so the longer you wait, the better the flavor.

014

When you first make it, it is runny. It does thicken while it is in the fridge so don’t worry. It isn’t store bought, but I really like it. When I eat this, I let the flavors marinate in my mouth. I know I am weird but hey, I haven’t had ranch dressing in a VERY LONG time. This is a low-fat and lower in sodium dressing than any store bought ranch.

1 cup low-fat buttermilk

1/2 cup fat-free sour cream

1 tablespoon fresh dillweed

1 tablespoon fresh parsley

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard. I tried to find the lowest sodium possible.

2 teaspoons dehydrated minced onion

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 rounded teaspoon pepper.

Mix ingredients together and store in fridge.

This a dressing that is a mainstay in my house now. It isn’t hard to make as it literally only took me 5 minutes to get the ingredients out and to mix it up.

Now if the garden veggies were ready, I could have a fresh salad for lunch. Oh well, maybe in a few weeks.

 

Beth

 

Leave a Reply

