Roasted Chick Peas

I love easy recipes that don’t require a lot of ingredients. I also love it when I find easy, healthy recipes. Roasted chick peas, aka garbanzo beans, when roasted make a nice snack. I got this recipe off of pinterest months ago and never tried it until today. It is a simple but easy recipe that is fairly healthy.

First, all you need is a can of chick peas drained and rinsed. I used an organic kind that has less sodium in it.

012

Then line a baking sheet with a paper towel so that you can dry the beans,

014

Take another paper towel to dry the top of the chick peas thoroughly. When you do this, there might be some skins that fall off of the beans. You can discard the skins or leave them. I threw mine away. When they are dry, throw the paper towels away and leave the chick peas on the sheet.

023

Now you will want to lightly coat the beans with olive oil. Make sure that you coat them thoroughly. This is where your hands come in.

020

Now you can bake them in an oven set at 400 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes. I did 30 and they were just fine. When they are roasted take them out of the oven and season them anyway you want to. The recipe that I saw used either Cajun or creole seasonings and salt. I just used a little salt and garlic.

029

When you bite into them, they have a crunch that is delicious! I have had roasted soy beans before and they kind of remind me of those. To me this is a much healthier alternative to potato chips. My only regret is that I didn’t make a double batch.

Be aware though, you won’t want to eat too many at once. These are beans remember and don’t forget what happens when you eat beans. I bet you smiled at that one 🙂

 

Beth

 

Leave a Reply

