Little House On The Prairie

While I have been off of work and resting since my hospital stay, I have been catching up on old episodes of Little House on The Prairie. The one episode that I saw was called The Plague.  Some families had purchased the cornmeal because it was so cheap compared to what Mr. Hanson charged for his. One family purchased so much of it that they had made two loaves of cornbread for dinner. In the show, the family didn’t have anything else with it, except maybe something to put on top of it. The little boy wondered why they were having two loaves for dinner, and the parents said that they could afford to have two loaves for dinner now. They were so poor the only thing that they had to eat was cornbread for every meal.

In another episode called Survival, the Ingalls family got stuck in a snow storm and did find shelter. It showed them eating by candle light and they were eating stew. When Pa asked Ma how much food they had left, she told him a half loaf of bread, 3 apples, stew, and some cornmeal. When you think about it, the food that they ate was humble yet satisfying. While I realize that they needed more food because they were stuck in a storm, on a normal day, they would eat whatever food that they grew or hunted. There was the few staples that they would have to purchase from the mercantile, but it was minimal.

Are you satisfied with a humble meal? I know that I am and so is my family. After watching the shows, I was really in the mood for stew and cornbread. Since my hubby is a hunter, we usually have venison in our freezer. I took some out this morning to make a venison stew.

002

I dredge my stew meat in flour, pepper, and minced onion. I heat up my skillet with one tablespoon of oil in it. I then put the meat in to brown. I then stir it to brown it evenly and while I do that I scrape the bottom to get the goodness off the bottom.

004

When it is lightly browned, I then add some water, spices, potatoes and any veggies that I might have leftover in the fridge. Today was carrots and green beans. Then I let it simmer all afternoon so that the veggies will be soft and the meat will melt in your mouth.

While the stew simmers, I made up some cornbread. My recipe for cornbread is more of a healthy one. I try to make healthy comfort food.

007

I put it in an 8×8 pan, not in a bread pan. It is not as dense of a bread as some others that I have had in the past.

3/4 cup cornmeal

1 1/4  cup flour

2 tsp baking powder ( I use reduced sodium)

1/4 cup sugar (I have used Splenda and not had a problem)

1 tsp salt (I now use 1/4 tsp)

1 egg or two egg whites

1 cup milk (I use fat free)

1/4 cup oil

Grease one 8×8 pan. Mix dry ingredients together first, then add wet ingredients with a wooden spoon. Poor into the greased pan and bake at 425 degrees for 20 minutes.

This was the perfect meal today since it is cold and rainy. It warms the body and soul.

 

Beth

2 thoughts on “Little House On The Prairie

  1. “Are you satisfied with a humble meal” is a GREAT question to ponder. Sometimes part of my head thinks I need to be channeling Martha Stewart 24/7, but often the meals my family really oohs about are simple things.

    • Oh I know what you mean. When I try something new that is supposed to “WOW” everyone, a lot of the time they look at me like I have two heads. The funny thing with the stew today was it was the best stew that I have made in a long time.

Leave a Reply

