Pinterest Inspired

Ok, I just had to try another recipe from Pinterest again. Cinnamon Apple Cake is what I thought would be an easy recipe that I could make a little more healthy. Why is it that I can look at the picture and think that “yeah, I can make mine look just like this”, but in reality, it never does. All you need is a can of apple pie filling and a box of angel food cake mix.

044

049

I used sugar free pie filling so I am not sure if that was the problem or not. All you have to do is mix the two together.

048

Grease a 9×13 pan and put your batter in it. Because my pie filling didn’t have cinnamon in it, I sprinkled cinnamon on top of the batter before I put it in the oven.

053

Bake it at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until top is browned. My top never browned, but my edges started to get really brown so I pulled it out at 25 minutes. The instructions did say that you just use the dry mix only of the cake mix and don’t add anything else to it except the pie filling.

062

This is what it looked like when it was out of the oven. Yes it is cooked, but the top looks like it isn’t. Did it taste good? Yes and no. I liked the texture even though it didn’t even remotely look like the picture, but I should have put more cinnamon in it, or maybe even some nutmeg. I might try this again with a different pie filling, like blueberry. I do make my own blueberry pie filling so I might have to try it. I am sure that I will have a few testers waiting to dive into that one since we are huge blueberry fans in this house.

This turned out to be a healthy dessert, that I could eat. I haven’t had anything sweet and gooey in a LONG time. I am picturing everyone else here putting whipped topping or ice cream on it. It will make a nice dessert tonight to go along with the taco salad that I am planning on making.

My next Pinterest ideas I will try tomorrow. I will let you know how they turn out.

 

Beth

 

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Inspired

Leave a Reply

