Recipes From Pinterest

How many of us are on Pinterest and pin stuff then never look at it again? I admit that I have done that, but yesterday I made two recipes from there and the one I will definitely keep and the other, well let’s just say that it wasn’t a keeper. The one that I will probably not make again is a healthy ice cream. It called for 1/3 cup almond milk, 1 cup of strawberries, and 1 small banana. Blend it all together and freeze. It just reminded me of a smoothie.

025

It tasted good, but like I said, it was just like a smoothie. Oh well, that was a learning experience. On to the next recipe.

Oven baked zucchini. This one was a keeper. I actually found two different recipes for this and combined them together. You will need two zucchini’s cut in half and slice off some of the bottom on the halves to make them stable.

007

Brush each half tops with olive oil and top with garlic powder or chopped fresh garlic, whichever you prefer.

009

Then top with sliced tomatoes, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and panko. There are no exact measurements, just put on however much you prefer.

010

014

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes depending how much “crunch” you like in your zucchini.

020

When it is cooked, the panko is crunchy and I loved that. While I liked the parmesan cheese, we all decided that some grated mozzarella cheese would have been a great addition. In the summer, we like to grill the zucchini or occasionally fry it. This will be one more way to use up all of the plentiful zucchini that seems to multiply in the garden every summer.

We did have some leftovers so I saved it and had it for lunch. While the “crunch” was gone, the flavor was still there. I will be making it again soon, as it is one of those healthy sides that everyone enjoyed.

Now, excuse me while I go back on Pinterest and see what else I can find to make. 🙂

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

