Crockpot Cooking

I love cooking in my crockpot. It is so easy to throw something in it and go about my business for the day. When my old one cracked, I made it a point to get a big one so that I could put a whole chicken in it. I also made it a point to get one with a timer. Now I have to say that I was used to my old crockpot cooking things fast, so when I tried my new one I was disappointed the first time I used it. Now that I am used to it, I love it! I am so loving the fact that I can cook a lot of food and have plenty for leftovers for another meal. I cooked a whole chicken in it and was impressed with how it turned out.

010

I put a little water in the bottom and cut up some onions and put them around the chicken. Then I put some no sodium chicken bouillon on top of it along with some pepper. It sat in the crockpot from 9:30 in the morning until 5:30 at night on the setting low (8 hours). I was a little concerned that it wasn’t cooking quick enough so I did turn it up for a little while, then turned it back down. I think that if I put it in at 8:00 it would have been fine. Let me just say that the chicken was so good and moist. My hubby and daughter liked the basic flavor to it. I myself prefer a little more spices, but it was still good.

Last night I had made an Italian dish with rotini pasta and didn’t use all of the pasta up, so this morning I made it into a pasta salad. Easy enough! I was rummaging through the cupboard and found some baked beans and so I put them in a pot and doctored them up with some onion, bbq sauce and brown sugar. The dinner was a hit and I didn’t have to slave all day in the kitchen. It reminded us of a summertime picnic, minus the mosquitoes.

I also love putting pork or beef in the crockpot along with potatoes, carrots and onions. The possibilities are endless when it comes to cooking with a crockpot. I have to say that I love the timer on mine because now my food doesn’t overcook anymore. Let’s see, what can I put in it for tomorrow nights dinner?

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

