Saving Money

I am sure that everyone knows by now that the prices of grocery items have been rising in leaps and bounds. I have noticed it and have always been frugal in my grocery shopping to help keep the costs down. We have had a lot of expenses here lately with having to buy new appliances and a vacuum cleaner. We are also trying to get the best price on a new furnace for next winter. That alone will be a HUGE expense. On top of all of that, there are always the expenses of having a child in college, and any incidentals that may arise. I am stretching our dollars anyway that I possibly can right now.

When I know that there is something that I know we need, I try to use a coupon or make sure that I can get it at its lowest price. I knew that our supply of soap has dwindled down, and I haven’t seen a good deal on it in a while. I had to go to the doctor today, so I combined my trip so that I wouldn’t waste gas and also went to the store. That is one thing I always try to do is combine trips. What is the point in wasting gas?

004

I took my coupons with me and I used a coupon on my soap to save $1 on the large size. I usually buy the 6 count when my favorite store has a promo on it. It was actually cheaper for me to buy the 8 count with a coupon this time. I also had 3 $3 off coupons for the Bic razors. Can you spell FREE! The only thing that I had to pay was tax. These will go into my store room for whenever hubby or my son will need them. I love it when my son comes home from college and needs something. He doesn’t ask me to buy it, he just automatically goes to the basement store room and “shops”. I generally keep a supply of razors, shave gel, deodorant, and anything else that you made need in my store room. I did get away from couponing for a while due to people in my area being shelve clearers. I was so disgusted that I totally quit using coupons for a while. We lived off of my stockpile for about 1 1/2 years due to bare shelves. I have noticed that recently the shelves seems to be more stocked so I am back to couponing again. I did get a few other things today so that I will not have to go to that store for a while. I generally don’t like big box stores.

I don’t know why, but I have the feeling that the prices of things will go higher at the stores. I am going to try to stock my shelves with cheap toiletries and baking supplies. When our garden starts to produce I will be canning and preserving everything that we don’t eat fresh. If local fruits and veggies are cheap enough, I will buy them and preserve them as well. It will help our budget tremendously and help us not to spend so much at the store later.

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

