Making Your Own Seasoning Mixes

I have always been interested in cooking and saving money. Years ago I read The Tightwad Gazette and I remember reading about making your own mixes. Back then I was getting free taco mixes with coupons all of the time, so I wasn’t interested in making my own. I did however start making my own chocolate syrup because of reading that book. I thought that it tasted far better than store bought. When I had to start watching my salt intake, I was limited to what I could eat. I craved certain foods that were on my “no-no” list. One of them was tacos. Oh how I lusted over the tacos that I would see my family eat. I would sit there drooling when I would see my daughter pick up a homemade burrito, dripping with taco sauce, sour cream, and those beautiful green chiles. That was it, I had to do something. Finally the light bulb went off in my head, The Tightwad Gazette! I would try that mix that was mentioned in the book. So I sat down and looked at what was needed for the recipe. The darn thing called for chili powder, and there is salt in the store bought chili powder. Well, I had just ordered a cookbook from the American Heart Association and there was a recipe for chili powder in there. I have to say that making these mixes is not hard at all, a little time consuming, but not hard.

Taco Seasoning Mix

6 tsp chili powder

4 1/2 tsp cumin

5 tsp paprika

2 tsp onion powder

2 1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/8 to 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and store in an airtight container.  I can’t say for sure how much to use because tastes are different. I use 1 1/2 Tblsp per one pound of meat.

Chili Powder

3 Tblsp paprika

2 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Mix thoroughly and store in an airtight container. Again, it depends on taste but I use 3 tsp per one pound of meat.

Both of these mixes will last up to six months stored in a cool place. I have made up the chili powder and used it in my taco seasoning and you would never know the difference that they are homemade. I have used the chili powder in my chili and we don’t notice a difference.

By using these, you are omitting the msg in your diet, which I am happy with. I do buy my spices in bulk and at Aldi for the cheapest prices that I can find around here.

Well I did have pictures that were to go with this post, but for some reason they will not upload. If I can figure out what is wrong and get the pictures on here, I will post them later 😦 Sometimes technology isn’t always good.

These mixes are healthier and more economical than store bought. I am always on a quest for new homemade mixes so if anyone has more, please comment. I would love to hear them 🙂

 

Beth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Making Your Own Seasoning Mixes

Leave a Reply

