Cooking 101

The other day I took some chicken breasts out of the freezer for dinner but I didn’t know what to do with them. While they were thawing, I was doing laundry and cleaning up and the whole time still wondering what to do with them. I did take out 2 extra breasts to cook for lunches. Instead of lunch meat, my daughter and I use chicken for our sandwiches and wraps. I finally decided to boil all of the chicken as that is how I cook it for our lunches. I added some onion powder and pepper to the water. While it was boiling,  the thought came to my mind to make something like a chicken pot pie only I wasn’t in the mood for making a crust. I had some baby carrots to use up and some celery that was just starting to go soft so I chopped them up along with  some onion. When the chicken was done boiling, I removed the breasts from the broth and reserved some broth for my pot and the rest I saved for later use. I saved the 2 breasts for lunches and used the other 2 for dinner. I cut them up into cubes and put them to one side. I then made a mixture of water and flour to add to my broth to make a gravy which I seasoned with pepper and a little Mrs. Dash. When the gravy started to thicken, I added the cubed chicken, chopped carrots, celery and onion. I also added about 1/4 bag of frozen peas. I needed to use the peas up as they were starting to get freezer burn. While all of this simmered together, I made some wheat biscuits from scratch to put on top of the chicken and veggie gravy.  I popped that puppy in the oven and cooked it for about 15 minutes, just long enough to cook the biscuits.  Let me just say that it was really good for not knowing what to have for dinner that day.

001

I wasn’t planning on taking a picture until hubby told me to. so that is why it is a little blurry. I was in too much of a hurry to eat!

This is an example of making your food stretch. When I boiled the chicken, I boiled enough for dinner and lunches. The chicken for lunches will last us all week. The chicken for dinner that night fed us that first meal, and there were plenty leftover for another meal for later in the week when I won’t feel like cooking when I come home from work. Then there is also the broth that I will use for another meal. Four chicken breasts = two dinners, 10 lunches, and broth for the base for one more meal. At $1.69 pound that is not too bad. For not knowing what to have for dinner, I don’t think that I did too bad.

I do like to cook, but I also like to cook frugally and healthy. I have made it my mission to find healthy, cheap and and down right delicious recipes. If I can’t find a recipe that is healthy and somewhat cheap to make, I will come up with my own version. Oh, and did I mention that I also like easy recipes? I have to admit that sometimes I get lazy and want the easy way out when cooking.

I have a lean piece of beef cooking low and slow in the oven now. I wonder how many meals I will get out of that one piece? It sure smells good so I am guessing not too many as hubby and my daughter will definitely want to devour it. I don’t cook beef that often so they will eat every little morsel 🙂 Happy cooking!

 

Beth

2 thoughts on “Cooking 101

  1. I love being able to stretch 1 meal into many, and chicken is one of the easiest things to do that with. I have family & friends who still have a hard time believing that I can feed my family of 5 three to four meals from 1 whole chicken, not including all of the delicious broth that gets saved & used in future meals, as well. It’s like a game, sometimes, but I love knowing that I can stretch what we have & still feed us healthy, delicious meals.

    • I used to be a stay at home mom for 19 years, so I was always finding ways to save money. Groceries and our meals was the best way to cut down on spending. We ate healthy meals and like you said it can be a game trying to see how far we can stretch our meals and our money. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

