Lip Smacking Good!

I have mention before that I enjoy cooking and baking. However, there are those days that I stand in the kitchen and wonder what in the world are we going to have for dinner tonight? I work part time and on those days I do try to have something planned so that I am not ordering take out at the last minute. When I went to the grocery store on Saturday, I found a pork roast on sale and I also had a coupon. As soon as that roast went into my cart I knew what I was going to do with it.

001

It has some fat on the top that you see, but underneath it is pretty lean. I like to put the fat on top so that the drippings make the rest of the roast tender. I then opened a can of cola and poured it over the roast. I was also thinking that some onion and a sprinkle of pepper on top would be good.

002

I didn’t feel like chopping up an onion at 8am so I just used some minced onion. I then set the timer on the crockpot for 8 hours. When I took the pork out of the crockpot at dinnertime it was falling apart and smelled oh so good!

003

For some reason the picture turned out fuzzy and I don’t know why but you can see how yummy the pork looked. I then buttered some buns and grilled them like a grilled sandwich and then put the pork on the buns. On the side I served my home canned mixed garden veggies and some french fries. It was one of those meals that comforts you when you have had a long day.

Between the sale and the coupon used on this piece of pork, I only spent $6 for it. I believe that it was close to 4 pounds of meat. There is plenty left over for another meal, so I will freeze it for later when I won’t have time to cook something. I am happy that we got at least 2 meals out of it. We might even get a lunch out of it as well, depends if everyone just wants one sandwich for dinner the next time.

I have to say that I have seen this way of cooking a roast before, but when I saw it the recipe called for Dr. Pepper. I am sure that the spicy flavor of that pop might add a little more zing. I have also heard of some people using hot peppers as well. Hey, I am all for spicy but not everyone here likes that sort of thing. I have to find the happy medium around here 🙂 . I have made pulled pork before for a party and I used Cavender’s Seasoning and Sweet Baby Rays barbeque sauce. That turned out awesome! Pulled pork can be made with different spices and cooked in many different ways. I like to experiment in the kitchen as you never know what new recipe can be added to your daily meal ideas.

Now what to have for dinner tonight?…………

 

Beth

 

Leave a Reply

