Muffins Galore!

There are mornings that oatmeal or cold cereal just doesn’t sound good for breakfast. I don’t do the processed Pop Tart thing anymore, so there aren’t many options unless I make something from scratch.  After my heart attack I did alot of searching for healthy recipes on the internet. I stumbled across this recipe and it has become a huge hit with everyone in the house. I couldn’t believe that I finally found something that everyone would like to eat. Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins are healthy, and I must say that they make a great treat in the morning, or even as a snack.

001

In the picure is a double batch of muffins. I like to make double batches when I have too many ripe bananas on hand. Don’t like to waste anything! I do have to say that there is wheat germ in these so it can make the cost of these go up. I aim for healthy meals and snacks, but also try to cut costs when I can. Healthy eating can be expensive if you are not careful. With all of this said, here is the recipe for a single batch.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

1 cup flour

1 cup quick oats

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup sugar ( I use Splenda)

2 tsp baking powder (I use low sodium powder)

1 tsp baking soda

2 eggs (I use 3 egg whites)

1/4 cup oil (I use canola)

1/4 milk (I use fat free milk, and sometimes powdered)

1 cup mashed bananas ( I have found that adding an extra banana makes it really moist)

1 cup chocolate chips ( I have cut it down to 1/2 cup and I use dark choc. chips. This can drive the price up.)

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. In a seperate bowl mix eggs, oil, milk and bananas. Add to the dry mixture and add the chips at this time. Mix until moistened. Use paper liners in a cupcake pan or spray with non stick spray. Makes 12 muffins. I have found when I add the extra banana, it makes 14. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

I have haven’t tried it yet, but I wondered if you could use whole wheat flour instead of the unbleached that I use. It might alter the taste a little. I will just have to experiment sometime.

002

Two of these with a glass of milk in the morning is tasty and filling. It can make a great start to your day and can satisfy a sweet tooth when you want a snack. These will definitely be a mainstay in our home.

 

Beth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Muffins Galore!

Leave a Reply

