Comfort Food

Yesterday we had rain and snow here on the hill. It eventually turned to all snow. I didn’t want to venture out but I had to finish my Christmas shopping. When I got home I thought that we needed some comfort food for dinner. Something that would “stick to your ribs”. I had a little turkey ham leftover in the refrigerator so I thought that I would make some chowder.

001

Let me say that since I have to watch my fat and salt now, I had to tweak my original recipe. I used fat free milk and instead of 1 tsp of salt I only used 1/4 tsp. You know what? It tasted just as good as my original recipe. No one even noticed that it tasted different. Amazing!

A few weeks ago a local store had those new Fleischman’s bread mixes on sale. Combine that sale with the coupon that I had and it made the package pretty cheap. Normally I prefer to make bread, biscuits, etc from scratch but I am also a sucker for new products. Well I made up this bread and it wasn’t too bad. I don’t normally eat white bread but everyone else in my family does. They declared it a hit. Well with this said I did have to try it. I don’t think that it was like homemade but it was good.

002

I think that everyone enjoyed dinner tonight. It is a cozy feeling when you have a candle burning in the center of the table, and comfort food in front of you on a cold blustery night. It is even more enjoyable when your family can all enjoy it together!

What is your favorite comfort food when it is cold and blustery out? I would love to hear what everyone else finds comforting.

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

