Scratch and Dent Stores

I will be the first to admit that when I first heard about scratch and dent stores, I was a little skeptical. My children were little and I did need all of the help I could get on saving money. There was one store that was a little out of my way but I loved it. I would make it worth my time because there was also a bulk food store on the way there.  At that particular store they had everything from dented tomato sauce to packages of diapers that might of had one missing from the pack. That store eventually closed up and I never found another one that I liked.

A couple of years ago I was told about another one that is still a hike for me, but I LOVE IT! I try to get there at least once a month. The problem with these kind of stores is the fact you never know what they are going to have. You might find your favorite cereal one day and the next time you go, it will not be there. You also have to watch the expiration dates on packages. Sometimes the dates mean a sell by date and are still good. If the date says “best by” it could still be good, depends on what the product is and how far past the date it is. I have bought cereal a month or two past the best by date and it is just fine. It depends on the person if you want to purchase something that is past a date. We have never been sick in our house from eating something just past a date.

The other thing that some people don’t like is if a can is dented a little. To me, as long as a can is dented a little and not bulging, I think it is fine. I have dropped a can here at home and it becomes dented. Do I throw it away? Heck no. I still use it. Lately I have been finding our favorite kind of cereal at this store for a $1.50 a box. Now with eating healthy I am more picky with what I buy. When I can find a good deal on something that we will eat I try to stock up. I think that at one point we had 7 boxes of cereal in our pantry. That is my favorite snack at nighttime.

I do get a little tired of eating oatmeal in the morning. I was so excited when I went to the sratch and dent store on Saturday and found some wheat cereal. Something healthy and different to try. And it only cost me $1.50 for the box. There was also some coucous that I have been wanting to try as well. I did a price check at the grocery store and a box of couscous, the same brand, cost $2.99. The price I paid…..50¢! It is something that I have been wanting to try and I refuse to pay $2.99 for something that I am not sure if I will like or not.

 

002

Everything that I bought was in date. The couscous boxes were just a little dented but otherwise perfectly fine. Another thing about this store is that it carries lunch meat. I noticed that the prices are WAY cheaper here than at the grocery store. My daughter was with me and noticed that on the sign showing the prices and kinds of meats and cheeses it said “deli ends” and it showed a discount price. That in itself was a huge savings compared to grocery store prices. If you don’t mind end pieces of cheese and meats, this is a perfect way to reduce your grocery budget.

If you are looking for a way to reduce your grocery budget, check out the scratch and dent stores in your area!

 

Beth

Leave a Reply

